Renovation Innovation – MESH

Never one to be left behind in this innovative environment we call our Second Life, I’ve spent some time learning a whole new method of building, 3D Blender modelling. I’m the first to admit I don’t like change, however, I dislike missing out and being left behind far more than I dislike change and one the most important aspects of design is staying on top of innovation. I knew when I started to understand the intricacies of 3d modelling it would give me a whole new lease on creation, but my reluctance to accept change led to procrastination.  A few weeks ago I took the plunge and downloaded some tutorials and began my journey with 3D modelling.

The images above are a loft I’m working on for second life. I’m comfortable with the modelling side of things and I’ve learnt how to bake the shadows, create UV maps and the basics of texturing.  So now I need to enhance my skills and master it all.  It’s probably a good month away from release(time permitting), I intend to take my time and get it just right.

I wanted to give some words of encouragement to anyone who may be feeling somewhat over whelmed at the prospect of learning mesh. I choose to use Blender, it’s free, there’s a ton of support and lots of tutorials available.  I can truly say I never expected to be able learn blender let alone to produce something tangible. The first time I opened Blender I was totally overwhelmed, it was so foreign and looked like nothing I’d ever seen before. But, I persevered and started out with the very basic tutorials, learning the interface and the basics of modelling, playing around with the basic shapes until I was comfortable. From there I moved on to more advanced tutorials until I was confident enough to feel I could build something.  It’s still a foreign environment but it becomes more familiar with each session.  Possibly the hardest part is finding time to learn but the investment is worth it.  So I would say to you, persevere, go at your own speed, take your time, experiment and don’t give up, just go for it!

Following are some links to resources I’ve found useful.  The cgcookie architectural series helped me immensely; although the model you make doesn’t work for SL in terms of physics the tutorial itself teaches many valuable tools and allows you to learn to adapt your skills accordingly. I should add to complete the architectural series you need to pay a fee of $25US,but I found it was worth every penny.

I hope these will help you, have fun 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TxIt-KELPhk

http://cgcookie.com/blender/get-started-with-blender/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jujD9JTqLgU

http://cgcookie.com/blender/cgc-series/interior-3d-architectural-visualization/

http://www.demonkiddesign.co.uk/blog/?p=670#comment-494

Leave a Reply

